Styleaholica

One Wise Splurge: Workaday Heels.

Posted in shopping advice by bluewellesleyblue on June 30, 2008

As an impoverished college student, I’ve become a very quick study in what I can and what I can’t get on the cheap when it comes to clothes, shoes, and accessories. Anyone who has walked a day – or even an hour – in cheap heels quickly discovers that when it comes to wise splurges, a good and solid pair of working or interview heels is a must. Now, cost does not always correlate with a longer wear-time before one’s feet start crying bloody murder, but in general, going for a higher-quality pair will save you a great deal in terms of pain and blisters in the future.

A splurge in heeled shoes need not involve more than a hundred dollars. These are the BCBGirls “Betsy,” and though it’s a lower heel than most of my friends would be interested in wearing, it’s a solid shoe that let me walk in Boston for a good two or three hours before my feet seriously think of complaining. Sticker price was $90 though I didn’t pay quite that much.

Friendship with lady luck could yield an even better steal of a deal. I am duly jealous of the friend with the sixty dollar Marc by Marc Jacobs heels from a Houston DSW.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sartorialslave said, on July 1, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Vintage shoes are usually well made- old school style, and cheaper… definitely worth a look as long as you don’t mind wearing someone’s old shoes!

  2. bluewellesleyblue said, on July 1, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Vintage in general is definitely something I haven’t explored yet (I know – I can hardly be considered a fashionista until I do! 😀 ) but it’s something I have to keep in mind while I’m in the Boston area since I’ll bet I have a lot of options.

  3. sartorialslave said, on July 1, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    If you visit Europe at all you should definitely hunt out the local vintage haunts because they’re usually pretty good to and ethical!

  4. bluewellesleyblue said, on July 2, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Thanks for the advice :]. I am actually going to London for the coming fall semester while I study abroad at the School of Oriental and African Studies! Hopefully a lot of exploring across Europe will ensue.


Leave a Reply

