Styleaholica

The Knockoff Watch: Apple Watches

Posted in the knockoff watch by bluewellesleyblue on July 1, 2008

Look it’s a pun! A really bad one, but still. It’s fitting that my first “knockoff watch” post will be… about watches! Anyway, I noticed the Marc Jacobs fruit pendant watches months ago while I was thinking about whether I wanted to invest in a watch at all. I didn’t end up doing it, and well, now Forever 21 comes up with a version that is actually a near perfect copy of the green apple watch from Marc by Marc Jacobs that you see above (except for the color, that is). The details on the watch face are definitely different, but otherwise, it can be difficult to tell them apart at twenty paces.

As a poor college student I really don’t mind knockoffs all that much, though it does make me a bit squirmy when the resemblance is so uncanny that a lawsuit seems like an easy choice. I’m still vaguely tempted by the Forever 21 version though, since a fruit necklace watch really isn’t a 150-dollar-like-it thing.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

