Styleaholica

Recently Discovered: The Joys of a Pencil Skirt

Posted in how i wear by bluewellesleyblue on July 5, 2008

For the longest time, I absolutely refused to even consider the idea of wearing a pencil skirt. As someone with a little heft in the chest department, I was uncomfortable wearing skirts that didn’t flare out enough to balance that out. Yesterday, though, I tried on a pencil skirt at H and M and was floored by how flattering it was for everything from the waist down. I’m still in the process of figuring out what to pair it with, though I’ve definitely figured out that  can’t tuck shirts into the waist because of said balance issue. Belting a fairly close-fitting top with a cinch belt seems to work, though it isn’t really emphasizing the way the pencil skirt flatters the legs very well.

Pictures later. In addition, Happy 4th of July!

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Week in Review. « Styleaholica said, on July 13, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    […] did I realize that I also wanted to return the skirts I’d bought there. I might have a newfound respect for the pencil skirt design, but not for one in a material that also functions as a lint-magnet. […]


Leave a Reply

