Styleaholica

What to do With a Metallic Shift Dress?

Posted in how i wear by bluewellesleyblue on July 11, 2008


At the start of my sophomore year, I had a bit of a shopping addiction problem. I bought many things that I would wear once or twice and then realize that I didn’t like that much, even when I initially made the decision to buy them. One of those things was a metallic shift dress from the Nordstrom’s juniors section in a muted silver. It kind of fell into the trend last winter of metallic party dresses and seems to have been inspired by dresses like the ones pictured above. The fit was not great and I wore it once with black heels and footed tights, but I’m still kind of wondering what I was thinking. I have trouble wearing it without thinking immediately of science fiction and alien princesses, and that is not really me at all.

Still, if I ever get the chance, I think I might try pairing it with a white button down since the shape resembles something you could wear to work that way if it happened to be a more muted color and fabric. With a black jacket and heels, and maybe the black footed tights again and some more conservative accessories, the ridiculousness of that dress might get toned down a bit.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

