Styleaholica

In my Bag.

Posted in miscellaneous by bluewellesleyblue on July 29, 2008

My version of an “In my Bag,” post. This summer especially, I’ve tended towards using larger bags since I usually bring some of my research with me and then I also need a notebook to take notes in. I also have a kind of fatty wallet as opposed to a small one, which you can also see. Moleskine notebooks are awesome and worth every penny, as someone who has gone through a bajillion and a half other notebooks, never using any for as long as I’ve been using my Moleskine. At any given time, I usually have more than just old Commuter Rail receipts hanging out as litter in the bottom of my bag – movie ticket stubs, receipts, and hastily scrawled notes about this or that, are usually in there as well. That is, indeed, my cell phone. Our family plan contract expires later this summer, and this time I’m opting for a newer and shinier choice from the ones that come free with the contract. At the time I got the phone two years ago, it was already old, egads. Music on my commute or on my walks is something I can’t live without.

My choice of bag also marks me as one of those horrible, terrible, no-good purveyors of counterfeit goods. In my defense, the differences between my bag – a gift from my beloved Papa from a business trip to China – and the one it is ripping off are fairly vast and easily recognized by anyone familiar with the real Miu Miu Coffer. The leather on the authentic Miu Miu is far, far nicer-looking from ten, twenty, and probably even fifty paces away. This color was never used on any authentic Miu Miu bag that I know of. Additionally, there is not a single ill-gotten and fake logo anywhere on this bag. Even so, the people familiar with the designer prototype that I pass while using this bag on Newbury Street are probably judging me anyway, but I find that I don’t care. This bag looks nice with most of my winter and summer wardrobes both, and I’ll likely keep carrying it until it falls apart.

Leave a Reply

