Styleaholica

Research Assistant by Day, Fashion Blogger by Night.

Posted in fashion and society by bluewellesleyblue on July 29, 2008

So, it has been about a month since I launched Styleaholica. Fashion blogging was something I had wanted to do for a while, and I had a couple of abortive attempts – two tries on Livejournal, and an earlier version of my current more personal life-centric blog was half a fashion blog and half a blog about everything else, which just didn’t work out – before this one. So far, at least, I’ve done an alright job keeping on top of it, though I think I still have to figure out what sort of things to focus on when I blog here. This summer has been a bit more hectic than I thought it would be and my posting as of late has, admittedly, been a bit half-hearted.

When I finally started Styleaholica, I was having a bit of a moment. I’ve never been absolutely certain about what I want to do immediately post-graduation or even a bit further into the future. I know for a fact that I’m going to school again. Whether I’m going to law school first or if I’m prepared to take the plunge and commit to studying for a Ph.D in History or Political Science, I don’t actually know. This lack of uncertainty has been debilitating. I interviewed badly for a program at my school that would have placed me in a paid position with a think tank in Hong Kong – still close to my dream summer job – and while I made alternate as a sophomore, I can’t help but think that if I’d been more confident in knowing my goals, I would be in Hong Kong right now. I am very, very thankful for my research position with a History professor at my school. It has inspired me to commit myself right now to picking up Chinese again, with the hope of becoming fully literate (I’m currently fluent in colloquial Chinese). I love my work, but at the same time, I worry about my employability after college if this is all I’ve done. Earlier this summer, I wasn’t feeling quite so confident, and realizing that the high-flash, high-power lifestyle associated with New York City finance (or fashion, perhaps) had some appeal to me, I wondered if I might want to try for an internship at a fashion magazine next year.

Yes, it doesn’t seem like a particularly logical leap on paper, but fashion is something that has held a certain allure to me since my freshman year. I can’t quite explain why it holds my attention so – throughout high school and even now, I’m a bit of a pseudo-intellectual snob and fashion is not the first thing most people like that look towards – but it’s about self-expression and even art as much as it is a bit about consumerism and acquisition. Anyway, Styleaholica was mostly intended for personal enjoyment, but there was a bit of an ulterior motive under it as well.

Now, though, I think I’ve recommitted myself to going for the gold in my original field. No, I still haven’t decided for sure between law school or graduate school as the closest eventuality, but I know that those things are both strong enough possibilities to exclude all others. Fashion is still something I’m going to love, sometimes a little more and sometimes a little less, for the foreseeable future, but it is probably not where my future lies. I’ll still blog on it, of course, but even trying to post about something at least half-interesting every day or too is harder than I thought it’d be! I don’t know that I have the energy to devote myself whole-heartedly to fashion as a workday sort of thing.

So this has been a bit of a confused and muddled post, but it’s all things that have been on my mind lately.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. damyantig said, on July 29, 2008 at 1:40 am

    I have always wanted to be a fashion blogger, but I guess I have turned out to be a writing blogger and I am happy! Wish you luck with your new fashion blog:)

  2. bluewellesleyblue said, on July 29, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks! Fashion blogging is fun, but kind of keeping it up can be hard since I’m definitely not as dedicated to it as a lot of other people are. I hope I manage to stick with it this time :].


Leave a Reply

