Styleaholica

My Makeup Routine.

Posted in beauty products by bluewellesleyblue on August 2, 2008

Wow, that’s a lot of product.

I find it very interesting to note how other people do their makeup, so I thought I’d post a bit about my routine. Doing makeup in the summer, in the midst of all the heat and humidity that is inherent to the Boston area summer, has been a bit of a trial. I’ve had to modify the routine I use during the school year a bit. Pictured above is pretty much everything I need to try and make myself presentable.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have great skin. It’s been especially bad this summer, which makes various kind of expensive over the counter skincare products an absolute necessity to keep the blemishes down to a point where they can be easily obscured by makeup. I ended up buying all three of the products I mentioned in my last post about skincare, but it has been working. I might end up going to the doctor again as well, either for birth control to regulate my hormones a bit or for antibiotics, whichever they prescribe.

I’ve actually only tried two foundations since I started really doing makeup. Bareminerals was recommended to me by a friend, and I haven’t switched since that time. I actually don’t get very good coverage from Bareminerals, even when I use their concealer brush and powder (the latter is bought separately from the starter kit, which is a pretty good value for everything else). However, since my skin is so sensitive, I find that Bareminerals has worked well enough that I don’t think of switching. A good moisturizer is a necessity, however, since it can emphasize skin dryness if it’s there.

Before I even start with that, however, it’s especially important in the summer to use one of those Clean and Clear sheets or a similar product. It doesn’t even seem to matter if I wash my face immediately before doing makeup, since there’s still shine – probably the summer heat again. I’ve also been using the Clinique pore minimizer with T-zone shine control, which is also a pretty good product for it’s purpose.

I’m actually in the market for a new eyeliner, though for now, my drug-store brand one will do. I really like liquid eyeliners, though applying them has taken a lot of practice. I actually haven’t been using much eyeshadow at all this summer though I usually use some black to further open up my eyes. Alas, like many Asians, I have pretty small eyes and no double fold on my eyelid, so eye makeup in general is a bit difficult. Other little things: MAC blush and a bit of NARS or Smashbox lipgloss. Also, perfume.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fashionpudding said, on August 18, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    I have that exact Maybelline eye shadow in night sky.


Leave a Reply

