Styleaholica

Oh Costco, How I Love Thee.

Posted in shopping advice by bluewellesleyblue on August 10, 2008

I’ll bet this definitely counts as an unconventional place for a would-be fashionista to shop – unless they are also a lover of good food, which I also happen to be – but sometimes those big-box discount retailers have awesome offerings vaguely related to beauty, fashion, and style.

Costco’s makeup selection if, of course, extremely limited and inconsistent. That being said, when they do have name-brand makeup, the prices cannot be beaten. A couple of months ago I bought a set of three mini Smashbox lipglosses and a “highlighter quad” that I’ve been using as cream blush and eyeshadow ever since for less than thirty dollars. Today, at the Costco in my hometown, they had a Stila eyeshadow quad with two brushes for eighteen dollars and three Smashbox eyeshadow trios for nineteen dollars. These are, let’s just say, not necessarily cheap makeup products. Anyway, a good discount alone is not a reason to pick something up, but if it’s something you’re pretty sure you can make use of, there’s no reason not to seize the day. In my case, all three include colors that I can use, and it gives me an opportunity to play around with multiple palettes at a very reasonable price point.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

