Styleaholica

Actually, That’s a Belt…

Posted in things i love by bluewellesleyblue on August 18, 2008

I went shopping with my younger sister today and we had a lot of fun. I wasn’t really looking to buy anything, and didn’t end up taking anything home but some body butter from Anthropologie in a scent I really like, which also happened to be on sale. I tried on and saw a bunch of things that were adorable, though there was nothing I could bring myself to buy.

I saw a couple dresses I liked at Forever 21, though they weren’t suited to my figure at all. In truth, I do still have better luck there than I do at a lot of pricier retailers even if their materials are a bit cheap. This is, however, taking into account that there are few dresses that work well on my figure at all, and most need a little bit of adjusting or tailoring. I grabbed this headband on an earlier trip for a touch of that flapper look I’m so fond of.

There were some lovely headbands at Nordstroms, which is usually the case. Unfortunately, all of them were priced within the fifty to eighty dollar range making them a bit far outside my budget. One of the “I Am Fashion” bloggers posted a picture of my favorite one. I personally like red headbands to go with black hair, though navy blue ones work well for a more understated look that might better hold up to appliques, bows, and other decorative flourishes without being “too much.”

When I saw the collection of brightly colored silk flower things on the J Crew sale accessories table I immediately zeroed in on them as a Blair Waldorf-esque headband. Then, as I was holding the different colored ones to my head to show my sister, one of the sales associates asked if I liked that belt. Alas, what I had taken to be a ribbon headband was, indeed, a decorative belt. Of course, that wouldn’t stop me from wearing it on my head, most likely after cutting the ribbons short. I did feel a little silly for prancing around the store looking for a mirror so I could see what it looked like, but not enough to stop.

Picture from Ebay because the item is not in their online store. Everyone should, however, take note that it’s not actually sold out and at the Westfield Valley Fair J Crew in Santa Clara, they have plenty of the yellow, pink, and navy blue (which means they’ll gladly ship it to any other J Crew store if you ask nicely). They were on sale for 29.99 with an additional forty percent off, bringing it closer to the point where it’s worth buying as a statement piece type accessory that only goes with one or two outfits. I’d totally wear it with my Stepford Wife dress as either a belt or a headband, though this is only in theory and I might actually not be able to pull it off in real life. Lately, I find myself grabbing a lot of hair accessories to try solely because they remind me of Gossip Girl and well, Blair. The fact is, however, that Gossip Girl styling does not translate well to your average college classroom.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fashionpudding said, on August 21, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    I was just at the mall yesterday, and saw those belts at J Crew. I think that this season allows for belts because of their versatility to look good with any ensemble.

  2. bluewellesleyblue said, on August 21, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Yeah, I’m still really tempted to buy it, mainly for pseudo-headband purposes. If I did, I’d probably keep the ribbons long since it’s definitely not a belt that’s versatile to the tune of seventy-five dollars but for thirty-ish it could add a pop of fun color to a lot of outfits.


Leave a Reply

