Styleaholica

The Week in Review.

Posted in week in review by bluewellesleyblue on August 24, 2008

1. I discovered that Old Navy has oodles of absolutely adorable flats currently up for sale. I’m still a proponent of shoes generally being worth a slight splurge combined with judicious shopping in the sale section. However, when it comes to flats, I do have about as much luck with the pricier ones as with the more budget-friendly ones.

2. I was quite surprised to find that fashion blogging was so popular amongst the younger teenage set – to the point where I’m practically an old lady in comparison! – but then I figured out that it was because I hadn’t been exploring new fashion blogs enough. Silly me. Now I must be more conscientious about surfing around for new fashion blogs to read. There’s so much talent out there.

3. I am scheduled for wisdom teeth extraction next Tuesday. From what I’ve heard about the procedure and the fairly long recovery time it comes with, it is not a process I’m looking forward to at all. Of course, that goes without saying even when one is not as scared of dental procedures as I am.

4. Most people probably already know this, but Moleskine notebooks are awesome. I’ll never use another brand of notebook/planner/anything blank book again! I’ll be keeping track of my semester in London in my new London “city guide” Moleskine. The books are just so simple and elegant, with infinite potential for customization and ways to use them. Some of those can be seen through the Moleskinerie pool on Flickr. (Via Fops and Dandies, prior to her retirement from blogging).

5. Against the better judgment of people with better taste in movies than I, I watched The Mummy 3: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. It was a terrible movie, with such badly-written dialog that it was painful to listen to at times. Its only redeeming quality was some of the Shanghai scenes where Jonathan now owns a nightclub. Once you get over what seems to be wild historical inaccuracy – fashion, setting, and all it looked more pre-WW2 Shanghai than late 1940s Shanghai notwithstanding the fact that this would have been months before the People’s Liberation Army completely took over China for the Communist Party and a little more chaotic – those Shanghai scenes were wonderfully colorful. They reminded me of my fondness for the 1920s and 1930s China of some of my mother’s and grandmother’s Chinese soap operas, when the fashion seems to have been a nice mix of Western and Chinese styles. Those probably aren’t historically accurate either, but it makes for nice eye candy.

I couldn’t find any screenshots of those scenes, but here are some from major movies that hit on time periods that involved similar styles. Left is a screenshot from The Painted Veil and right is one from Lust, Caution.

Until next week, stay stylish!

Leave a Reply

