Styleaholica

The Week in Review.

Posted in week in review by bluewellesleyblue on August 31, 2008

1. Everyone’s probably back to school now, including my Wellesley friends who don’t happen to be going abroad. In truth, I’m kind of missing school too. I was busy most of the summer, but I’ve also had about two or three weeks lazing around at home, and I’m ready to get back to work! The start of school is the perfect excuse for getting a new tote bag, which is an infinitely cooler way to carry one’s books than a backpack. (Of course, if one has a lot of heavy textbooks, it’s best just to use the backpack to avoid injury.) While I’m just going to pack a more formal and business wear-appropriate tote during my semester abroad, I am quite fond of keeping around a fun and casual tote for class. Colorful prints or materials like canvas or straw can be very cute.

Betseyville Tote, $45.00.

2. The new O.P.I. for Sephora nail polish line is quite fun to play around with in the store. They are a bit pricey because they are salon-quality, but wow, just from trying it in the store, there is a difference. Since they go on to the nail very thick and smooth, it’s easy even for someone with clumsy hands like mine to do their nails neatly with higher quality nail polish. When compared to the price of several manicures, $9 a bottle is not too bad. They also offer a top coat, a base coat, and other odds and ends so that you can really do your own manicure. I probably won’t be investing in this since I get tired of individual colors so quickly, but if you can find a roommate or two to split it with and plan on using it for a while, the pricing is not too bad at all.

3. I hope no former Hillary supporter is fooled by McCain’s choice of Sarah Palin as a running mate. I was a Hillary supporter myself, but will of course be voting for Obama come November. I am not particularly enthused about Obama as a candidate. I am, however, well aware, that the Democratic candidate I liked less is still a far lesser evil than McCain/Palin when it comes to actual women’s issues like the right to choice. I’ll step off my soapbox now, but the argument that people will vote Republican just because they have a woman on the ticket makes me so angry. No one’s going to be fooled by that transparent a ploy from the Republican party. It’s just like those articles that argue that today’s teenage girls or just today’s teenagers or children do stupid things just because of what’s on TV or what’s going on with some specific, little groups of people.

4. I am almost completely recovered from my wisdom teeth extraction! I do not actually have dry socket, which is a relief. The recovery process for getting wisdom teeth out is actually not that big a deal at all, I just have very little else to complain about, and I quite like complaining.

5. I have the biggest urge to start browsing thrift stores because of the way some bloggers out there are able to incorporate thrift store pieces into their outfits so well. Unfortunately, those seem to be in very short supply in the California bay area. In the Boston area, I’m only familiar with the likes of Second Time Around and other still kind of pricey, swanky places that have locations in the Newbury Street area, but I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for more options in both my home locales.

Until next week, stay stylish!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. savvymode sg said, on September 1, 2008 at 6:31 am

    i heart those opi for sephora too…. : )

  2. Little Bow Prep said, on September 1, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Are you going to Wellesley? (Oh, you don’t actually have to answer that if you don’t want to.) I know two people from my school who are going there this year.

    I have so many school totes! Your pick is so cute!

    I was a Hillary supporter as well. (Although, at sixteen, I can’t exactly vote.) I think that Obama lacks experience (he just became a US senator in 2005), but he is a better choice than McCain/Palin. I think that Palin is not a very good choice as she doesn’t have much experience. Further since John McCain is 72, there is a possibility that his VP would need to be the president. I think that most Hillary supporters will be able to see through this rather transparent attempt to lure female supporters of Hillary to vote for McCain. I definitely agree with your opinions.

    I have to get my wisdom teeth out next year. I’m not excited at all. I’ve had a total of 12 teeth ((8 baby, 4 adult) pulled out already though. After visiting my orthodontist for six years, I thought my nightmare of braces and dental drama was over! I’m glad to hear that you are recovering well!

    I’ve never been to a thrift store. I’ve wanted to go to one, but my mother won’t let me (and I have no idea where one is).

  3. fashionpudding said, on September 1, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I love the new O.P.I line, and am considering buying the yellow polish they have. The bag is very cute, good pick 🙂 I think any Betsey Johnson bag can jazz up one’s look.

  4. bluewellesleyblue said, on September 2, 2008 at 4:20 am

    to Little Bow Prep:

    Yeah I am a Wellesley student :]. It’s a pretty awesome school. Awww – I had braces for a while though I didn’t need to get quite as many pulled. Dental stuff is always annoying though. My hometown totally lacks thrift stores too though the Boston area has a fair number.

    to fashionpudding:
    I have an on again off again interest in nail polish myself (and get tired of the same colors so quickly!). I didn’t like Betsey Johnson stuff at first, but its really growing on me.


Leave a Reply

