Styleaholica

Crazy for: Cross-Body Bags.

Posted in things i love by bluewellesleyblue on October 8, 2008

I’ve always been very fond of cross-body, sort of messenger-bag style handbags. Though many handbags are sold in the US with detachable shoulder bags for that purpose, I almost never see anyone actually wearing their bag that way when walking around in the mall or on Newbury St. That’s not the case at all on this side of the pond. When I look around at Covent Garden or on Oxford Street, there’s a small but significant percentage of stylish ladies with convenient, small bags hanging by their hip. On most any high street shop accessory wall, there’s also a fair amount of selection if one is looking for a cross-body bag.

Now that the only small bag I brought with me to London has been rendered temporarily unusable – though hopefully not permanently so – I’ve been in the market for a cheap replacement. Normally, when it comes to handbags at least, I look for slightly pricier options knowing that I’d rather buy one very nice one every year or so rather than a cheap thrill every season (though the right cheap thrill could make me change my mind). Still, I always feel slightly exposed when I go to crowded tourist sites with a tote bag that doesn’t fasten securely or at all. The worst pickpocket horror stories from people who’ve visited Europe always seem to take place in other cities, but there’s no point in taking a risk.

Though I rarely see the style used in practice when in the states, there are almost always some options there as well. Forever 21 has at least two very colorful styles in stock right now: If the colorful striped one looks very familiar to you, it should. It’s a very clear send up of a Prada bag from a while back.

I do feel like this is a style of bag that works best when its fairly plain. Usually, my favorite versions of this type of bag are just brown leather. Miss Thumbelina often incorporates a vintage version into her outfits.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fashionpudding said, on October 10, 2008 at 3:23 am

    I think I’ve said this before, but I must say it again,”I Love Forever21!”

  2. Little Bow Prep said, on October 12, 2008 at 1:19 am

    I remember seeing the Prada one!

    I own a few, but I always seem to need more space in my bags!

  3. […] prada cross body handbags Crazy for: Cross-Body Bags. … […]

  4. prada messenger bags | Bookmarks URL said, on October 29, 2008 at 12:27 am

    […] … In the handbag world, designers and fashion lovers adore a nice leather clutch, bag or purse. However, leather bags are more than just a clutch, bag or purse. Leather bags have a style and color selection that is seemingly endless. They can be briefcases, messenger bags or women’s handbags among many … Crazy for: Cross-Body Bags. … […]


Leave a Reply

