Styleaholica

The Obligatory Election Day Post.

Posted in miscellaneous by bluewellesleyblue on November 4, 2008

election-day

Photo from New York Times.

I sent in my absentee ballot a whiles back. I’m not too worried about whether my home state goes unambiguously blue when it comes to the presidential election. There are a few ballot measures in California that I’m worried about since I’m a little out of the loop on the political situation back home. If I haven’t made it obvious already, my politics are very liberal. I was a Hillary supporter originally, but I gladly voted for Obama. I will, however, admit to initially being very skeptical of Obama’s actual capacity for generating change. This despite less knowledge of Obama as a politician than I should have. Maybe I will be proven wrong. Regardless, I know he is the best candidate in my mind, given my political views, and in general. (You’ll find that I regard the argument that Democrats in general are better for the economy with considerable glee. This is least among my reasons for pretty much always going blue.)

That being said, even if I’m a political science major, my specialty is still comparative and international politics. My knowledge of the intricacies of each candidate and the difference between what they will likely be able to do and what they or my favored news sources say is… not as perfect as it could be. Outside of some very unpleasant verbal gaffes McCain made during the debates on the one hand and a fair amount of knowledge on his political history as a moderate on some issues on the other, I don’t know that much about McCain. One of the main deciding factors in my vote, whenever it applies, is the issue of what is better for the right to choice. It just so happens that the right stance on that also tends to coincide with the right stance on everything else important to me. McCain’s choice of running mate made my choice very easy. Pretty much everything about Palin is anathema to me, given my political views, and I could never vote for a ticket with her on it.

Oh, but enough of my ponderous, cynical, and rather self-indulgent musings on American politics. I’ll be keeping a close eye on election coverage as I work on amassing research for my papers here in central London. Hopefully, a few hours after I wake up (election results will be fully confirmed around 11 AM London time, apparently), I’ll soon find that I have considerable reason to celebrate.

EDIT: Candidate, not client.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Little Bow Prep said, on November 9, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I definitely agree with so many of your statements.

    I supported Hillary Clinton as well. I felt that many of my peers were “joining the bandwagon” and therefore supporting Obama without knowledge of his issues.

    The thought of Palin as possibly the President if McCain somehow died scared me beyond belief.

  2. bluewellesleyblue said, on November 13, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Earlier in the election during the harshest parts of the Democratic primaries, I even got a little annoyed at some hardcore Obama-philes. (All that is forgotten now, but whenever any one candidate or policy is touted as God’s gift to liberals or something, the cynic in me has to look for a reason to disagree.) Anyway, that part of it just proves I’m a cynical weirdo :].

    Palin was so scary, D: I feel a little bad about how much I bash her now that some of the McCain aides are scapegoating her, but just… GRAAAR, basically.


Leave a Reply

