Styleaholica

This is How I Procrastinate.

Posted in london calling by bluewellesleyblue on November 8, 2008

Though I managed to do a little bit of academic work today while sipping on yet another Gingerbread Latte, I spent most of my afternoon ogling planners for the year 2009. Due to severe sophomore slump for the first part of the year, I’m admittedly more than a little ready to put 2008 behind me, though my summer ended up being low-key but productive and study abroad here in London has been eye-opening. The only sad part of rushing through the last two months of 2008 would be leaving London, but I think I’m finding that one semester away from the land of Wellesley is enough. I’ll miss my wonderful, lively, and diverse group of flat-mates, but I’m also re-energized and fully prepared to take the year 2009 by storm. Anyway, I’m the type of person who needs to write out and plan everything, hence my fondness for planners. I ended up splurging a bit on a day-by-day planner even though I wasn’t able to effectively use one in the past. I’m hoping it’ll inspire me to be intense enough to fill most of its pages.

butterfly-diaryI ended up buying a very plainly designed one though there were many classy and colorful ones available at the local bookstore. The Paperchase line from borders offers a lot of cover options, and both their weekly planners and day ones are quite nice. I really liked this weekly planner with a sort of Asian-inspired embroidered butterfly print.

Ultimately, though I went with the slightly hefty Moleskine day planner. My attachment to the cult of Moleskine grows every time I need to buy a notebook. Admittedly, it was a bit pricey – I paid 15.50 GBP which is a bit more than the Paperchase equivalents were going for – but it sure feels as if you get what you pay for when you write in any Moleskine. Since the planner starts with January 1, 2009, I won’t be using it much yet, but I’ve been happily filling in next year’s vacation days, reading period start and end times, and so on so forth. All of this is so that I can procrastinate just a little bit more.

But hey, I deserve it. It’s reading week, which still kind of counts as a vacation.

Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Little Bow Prep said, on November 9, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I write down everything in my planner because if I write it down, I’ll remember it, otherwise I’ll forget. I tried using a PalmPilot for a while, but it kept on running out of batteries due to its extensive use.

  2. bluewellesleyblue said, on November 13, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Yeah – planners are a very good thing for me as well – though I haven’t done a good job sticking with mine this past year. The Moleskine day planner is massive, but I spend most of my school days and some of my weekends with a large tote at my side, so it shouldn’t be too bad.


Leave a Reply

