Styleaholica

Back to Basics.

Posted in how i wear by bluewellesleyblue on November 9, 2008

Lately, I’ve been most intrigued by the most basic clothes. I spend most of my shopping time trying on basics like solid or lightly pin-striped button-downs and long, solid-color cardigans. I’m also still on the lookout for the perfect T-shirt. For some reason, the basic T-shirt has always been one of the hardest things for me to find since so many of them fit awkwardly on my frame. High neck crew-neck T shirts, especially if they’re very close fitting, are always a bad idea for me.

basics1 basics21

My current favorite T shirt is this one by BDG from Urban Outfitters, pictured at the left. It’s a bit loose, but skims the body pretty closely, which creates a very flattering fit and the V neck isn’t overly low. I’ve heard good things. I’ve heard good things about American Apparel T shirts as well, though I’ll have to try on both the unisex deep V neck (pictured at the right) as well as the regular V neck for women before figuring out if I have a new favorite T shirt.

basics3 basics41

It’s odd that I’ve been so into building up my collection of basic items since I usually like to dress fairly girly. Still, I like the effortlessly casual look that comes from pairing a basic T with skinny or straight leg jeans and a cardigan, if it’s cold. I also like the idea of wearing a basic white shirt with a high-waisted skirt, in keeping with the sort of color-blocked dress look that’s all over Forever 21 et al. When it’s with a slightly loose fitting T instead, it feels a little more casual and a little less like one is going clubbing, I guess. This Forever 21 example, however, is also a bit more on the wear in the daytime side, and I quite like it.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

